Home

WELCOME TO GLOUCESTER LOCAL HISTORY SOCIETYFinal logo design

1st Sunday School

The world’s First Sunday School,

 

Gloucester Local History Society is a relatively new group bringing together everyone with an interest in the history of Gloucester.  It was formed in 2012 under the chairmanship of Jerry Jenkinson who had previously spent over 20 years researching the history of this fascinating area.  His papers now form the basis of the Society’s archive (available to browse at each meeting).

 

So, if you too have an interest in your local history please get in touch and help keep the past alive in the present.  All meetings take place at the Ed. Shed (entrance via Quay Street, through the wooden gates), on the first Tuesday of the month (September – June, no meeting in January), at 7pm unless otherwise stated*.

Please return your Data Protection consent form to the Society by Friday 25th May 2018

Programme of Events 2018

*Tuesday 10th April – Gloucester Docks, Past, Present and Future, Dr. Ray Wilson

Tuesday 1st May – We Built This City (a medieval take), John Putley

Tuesday 26th June – A Tour of Alney Island, Tony Conder (25 people max.), £5 members, £6 non-members

Summer break

Saturday 1st September – Sunday 16th September – Gloucester History Festival, organised by the Gloucester History Trust

Tuesday 4th September – The Lives of the Narrowboat Women, their Children & Crafts, The Boaters’ Craft Group (part of the City Voices programme, History Festival event)

Tuesday 2nd October – AGM followed by The Great East Window, Gloucester Cathedral – Let’s Forget Crecy!, Richard Cann

Tuesday 6th November – For King or Parliament, Malcolm Watkins

Tuesday 4th December – Christmas Waites (some less familiar Christmas music!), The Gloucester Waites

2019

Tuesday 5th February – Making a Living on the River Severn, Simon Draper

Tuesday 5th March – The History of Gloucester Rugby Club, Malc King

Tuesday 2nd April – Secret Gloucester, Christine Jordan

Tuesday 7th May – The Development of Georgian Gloucester, Nicholas Herbert

June outing – Exploring Secret Gloucester, Christine Jordan

Organisations who support us:

  • Gloucester Life Museum
  • Gloucestershire Archives
  • Gloucestershire Local History Association
  • City Archaeologists
  • Gloucester City Council
  • Quedgeley Community Trust